• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Game Developing

Cold_Ankles

Gargoyle
WFTO Backer
Dec 10, 2011
South Australia
I have no experience making games (well except for this one time) but it is something I would like to get into, does anyone have any suggestions besides try and make a game? I had a look at the UDK documentation today and it sounded looked interesting.

This one time I had to make a game as a university assignment: 19/20.

There's no one way to learn how to program. Some like to just dig in and get started, some prefer watching tutorials and following along, it's all dependant on the person. If you've got no programming experience, then try out a few different languages and see what you like. I'd recommend getting Unity free because you can try a few different styles of language; C#, JavaScript & Boo.

MrWahloh

Dwarven Worker
May 6, 2012
The Netherlands
You can follow courses. But there's no real all-in-one course that learns you how to create a game.

Things you need to know to create a game:
3D Modeling, Rigging, Animating, Concept Art, Texture Art, Programming, Game/Level Design, Project Management.

You can find allot of books about those subjects, but you should find the one that interests you the most and focus on that one.

And of course you can go to a school that focuses on Game Design, that's what I'm doing now.

There's one problem though, you really gotta show that you're good at it to get a steady job and in The Netherlands there aren't that much Game Studios so you'll have to be prepare to move to a different country for a job.

Keleben

Blood Imp
Jun 17, 2012